Board of Directors

Robert E. Schaaf, MD, FACR - President

Installed as NCMS President during the 160th NCMS Annual Meeting and House of Delegates, Robert E. Schaaf, MD, FACR, is a board-certified diagnostic radiologist and former president and managing partner with Wake Radiology in Raleigh, having served in that role since 1986 until just last year.

Originally from St. Paul, Minnesota, he completed his internship and residency in diagnostic radiology at Duke University Medical Center following his graduation from Tufts University Medical School in Boston. In April of 2004, Dr. Schaaf was appointed by the governor to the North Carolina Medical Care Commission and also serves as the Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors for the North Carolina Medical Mutual Insurance Company. Since 2004, he has been on the Board of Directors for the North Carolina Medical Society (NCMS), and was most recently appointed to the Wake Forest University Law School Board of Visitors.

Docia Hickey, MD - President-Elect

Docia Hickey, MD, is a neonatologist with the Carolinas Medical Center, Levine Children's Hospital. An undergraduate of Emory University and graduate of the Bowman Gray School of Medicine, Dr. Hickey spent her residency in pediatrics at Charlotte Memorial Hospital and Medical Center and a fellowship with the Divisions of Neonatology/Department of Pediatrics, Vanderbilt School of Medicine. She has served on the NCMS Board of Directors since 2002 and has also had an active role on the Legislation Committee as well as the Family and Public Health Committee of the NCMS.

Dr. Hickey currently resides in Belmont with her husband, Fred Miller.

Timothy J. Reeder, MD, MPH, FACEP - Secretary-Treasurer

Timothy J. Reeder, MD, MPH, FACEP, was elected to the NCMS Board of Directors during the 2012 NCMS Annual Meeting in Raleigh after years of service on several committees, including the NCMS Finance Committee, the Credentials Committee, and the Communications and Membership Advisory Committee. He has participated in organized medicine on the local level as well, serving as President of the Pitt County Medical Society in 2007. An emergency medicine physician, Dr. Reeder received his MD from Ohio State University, where he also spent his residency. He currently works at the Brody School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine, as an Associate Professor and Vice Chair for Clinical Operations.

Palmer Edwards, MD, DFAPA - Speaker of the House

Palmer Edwards, MD, DFAPA, is a board certified pyschiatrist residing and practicing in Winston-Salem, NC -- the same city in which he earned his medical degree as a graduate of the Bowman Gray School of Medicine (now the Wake Forest School of Medicine).

A member of the NC Medical Society for over 20 years, Dr. Edwards has been active in organized medicine for much of his career. He has served on the NCMS board since 2009 and led the Forsyth-Stokes-Davie Medical Society as president in 2010. In addition, he has taken leadership roles in his specialty society, the North Carolina Psychiatric Association (NCPA), serving as president in 2007 and chairing the NCPA's Ethics Committee.

He and his wife, Marty, have three adult daughters

John J. Meier IV, MD, MBA – Vice-Speaker of the House

A graduate of both the business and the medical schools at the University of Chicago, John J. Meier, MD is board certified in internal medicine and pediatrics, currently working at Wake Internal Medicine in Raleigh. Dr. Meier is a 2013 NCMS Leadership College graduate who is now developing a new curriculum for the Kanof Institute of Physician Leadership, focusing on improving health care business management skills.

Dr. Meier lives with his wife Emily and their three children in Raleigh.

Devdutta Sangvai, MD, MBA, FAAFP – Immediate Past President

Devdutta Sangvai, MD, MBA, FAAFP, took office as the NCMS President at the 2013 NCMS Annual Meeting, after having served on the NCMS Board of Directors as President-Elect and Secretary-Treasurer. In addition to his service with the NCMS, he also served a three-year term as the Chair of the Young Physicians Section of the American Medical Association and as president of the Durham-Orange County Medical Society. Dr. Sangvai is the executive director of Duke Connected Care and associate chief medical officer for Duke University Health System.

Robert W. Seligson – Executive Vice President/CEO

Robert W. Seligson (Bob) is Executive Vice President/CEO of the North Carolina Medical Society, the largest and oldest professional association in the state with over 12,000 members. As Executive Vice President/CEO, Mr. Seligson directs a variety of advocacy efforts designed to serve the physician community in North Carolina, including his designation as Chief Executive Officer of the N.C. Medical Society Foundation.

Mr. Seligson became Executive Vice President/CEO of the Society in May 1994. Prior to his arrival in North Carolina, he served as the Deputy Executive Vice President of the Florida Medical Association, one of the largest medical associations in the nation. He served Florida physicians in several executive roles, specializing in medical economics, health policy, and legislative issues. Because of the strong presence in Florida of national managed care companies, he has extensive experience in working with physicians in complex managed care environments.

Mr. Seligson and his wife, Donna, reside in Raleigh and have two children.

NCMS Regions

Region 1: Represented by Paul R. G. Cunningham, MD

Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, Wilson

Region 2: Represented by Jeffrey W. Runge, MD, FACEP

Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Orange, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Vance, Wake, Warren

Region 3: Represented by Arthur E. Apolinario, MD, MPH, FAAFP

Anson, Bladen, Cabarrus, Cleveland, Cumberland, Gaston, Harnett, Hoke, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Moore, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson Scotland, Stanly, Union

Region 4: Represented by Robert A. Yapundich, MD

Alleghany, Alexander, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Buncombe, Caldwell, Catawba, Cherokee,
Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rowan, Rutherford, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, Yancey

At-Large Members of the Board of Directors

  • Michelle F. Jones, MD - Wilmington
  • Brian S. Kuszyk, MD – Greenville
  • Michael J. Utecht, MD, FACEP – Apex